European Trade Union Institute, ETUI.

Accueil > Publications > Working Papers > The king is dead – long live the king: what follows after...



Working Papers

The king is dead – long live the king: what follows after the Troika?

Torsten Müller (ETUI)

Date de publication : 2016

Nombre de pages : 30

Ce working paper se focalise sur la nécessité de refaçonner les programmes d'aide financière et les activités connexes de la Troïka de manière à ce qu’ils soient plus socialement et démocratiquement acceptables. Il part de ce fait d’une analyse du rôle actuel de la Troïka et de chacune de ses trois institutions constitutives dans le cadre des programmes d'aide financière.

Cette analyse est suivie d'une discussion sur le nouveau style d'interventionnisme européen incarné par la Troïka en se concentrant en particulier sur les déficits démocratiques et sociaux par lesquels il est entaché. Ensuite, afin de décrire les effets de cette approche interventionniste européenne telle qu'elle est pratiquée par la Troïka, l'exemple de la politique salariale et de la négociation collective a été choisi en guise d’illustration. Enfin, quelques suggestions concrètes sont avancées quant à la la manière dont la gestion de la crise menée par la Troïka (ou ses institutions remplaçantes) pourrait porter l’empreinte d’une orientation politique plus sociale et plus démocratique.

Ce rapport est une version révisée et mise à jour d'un chapitre publié en allemand sous le titre «Die Troika: Kontrolle der Kontrolleure » in von Alemann, U., Heidbreder, EG, Hummel, H., Dreyer, D. et Göde A. (dir.) (2015): Ein soziales Europa ist möglich - Grundlagen und Handlungsoptionen, Wiesbaden: Springer VS, 261-284.

Nous tenons à remercier Springer VS pour leur aimable autorisation de publier cette version révisée et mise à jour comme working paper de l’ETUI.

Collection: 2015.09
ETUI, Brussels, ISSN 1994-4446

Pour plus d'informations, contactez

Téléchargement gratuit

 

Publications associées

European Trade Union Institute, ETUI.

Accueil > Publications > Working Papers > The king is dead – long live the king: what follows after...



Working Papers

The king is dead – long live the king: what follows after the Troika?

Torsten Müller (ETUI)

Publication date : 2015

Number of pages : 30

The focus of this paper is the need to reshape the financial assistance programmes and the related activities of the Troika in a way that would make them more socially and democratically acceptable. The starting point, therefore, is an analysis of the current role of the Troika and of each of its three constituent institutions in the framework of the financial assistance programmes.

This analysis is followed by a discussion of the new style of European interventionism embodied by the Troika with special emphasis on the democratic and social deficits by which it is marred. Next, in order to describe the effects of this European interventionist approach as practised by the Troika, the example of wage and collective bargaining policy has been selected as a specific illustration. Finally, some concrete suggestions are put forward as to how the attempt at crisis management conducted by the Troika (or its successor institutions) might be set on a policy footing inspired by a
more socially and democratically oriented political vision.

This is a revised and updated version of a chapter published in German under the title ‘Die Troika: Kontrolle der Kontrolleure’ in von Alemann, U., Heidbreder, E.G., Hummel, H., Dreyer, D. and Göde A. (eds.) (2015): Ein soziales Europa ist möglich – Grundlagen und Handlungsoptionen, Wiesbaden: Springer VS, 261-284.

We would like to thank Springer VS for their kind permission to publish this revised and updated version as an ETUI Working Paper.

Collection: 2015.09
ETUI, Brussels, ISSN 1994-4446

For more information, please contact

Free download

 

Related publications