Plus de vingt-deux millions de migrants en séjour légal et un nombre plus difficile à déterminer de migrants “sans papiers” vivent en Europe sous des statuts précaires qui leur limitent des droits dans de nombreux domaines. Cette situation fragilise aussi leurs conditions de travail. Tant pour les femmes que pour les hommes, la discrimination sur le marché du travail concentre de facto les travailleurs migrants dans des secteurs et des professions sous qualifiés qui constituent de véritables “niches” justifiées par des discours stéréotypés ou racistes. Ces secteurs sont souvent plus dangereux pour la santé et moins bien rémunérés.

Dans ce dossier, la rédaction de HesaMag a voulu présenter quelques situations concrètes dans différents pays européens. Ces exemples ont en commun d’évoquer l’idée d’une tenaille qui comprime et parfois broie des vies humaines. Une des branches est le statut d’étranger dans les différents pays de l’Union européenne et la limitation des droits que cette condition inflige. Avec parfois des situations dramatiques comme la privation de droits sociaux ou les expulsions vers des pays où règnent la violence ou l’arbitraire. L’autre branche de la tenaille est la montée de la xénophobie, attisée par des formations d’extrême-droite et accueillie avec une certaine complaisance par un spectre beaucoup plus large de formations politiques.

Contre une forteresse Europe barricadée face au reste du monde, de nombreuses initiatives surgissent. Elles émanent autant des migrants qui se regroupent et luttent pour leurs droits que de mouvements qui expriment la solidarité et la volonté de construire un avenir égalitaire. Les syndicats aussi se bougent pour soutenir cette dynamique. Tout au long de leur histoire, ils n’ont cessé d’affronter ce qui affaiblissait les travailleurs confrontés à la division et la haine.

HesaMagPlus

Buy printed version
€ 5.00
fr

Table des matières

Éditorial - Pour ne pas léguer le cancer à ses enfants

On sait depuis longtemps que la santé des enfants peut être mise en danger par des expositions subies par leurs parents. Des études ont été menées dès les années 1950 sur des enfants issus de personnes irradiées par les bombes atomiques américaines lancées sur les villes de Hiroshima et Nagasaki au Japon. Si vous notez que tous les pays d’Europe... lire plus

Les années Juncker et son bilan en demi-teinte en santé au travail

Après dix ans de paralysie presque totale imposée par la Commission européenne présidée par José Manuel Barroso entre 2004 et 2014, la santé au travail a-t-elle retrouvé une place dans les politiques de l’Union européenne ? Le bilan du président sortant Jean-Claude Juncker dont le mandat se termine en novembre 2019 est mitigé. On note quelques... lire plus

“Un travailleur est un travailleur” : la politique de syndicalisation des migrants

Les migrants constituent une partie intégrante du monde du travail en Europe et les syndicats dans l’ensemble du continent font des efforts pour les syndiquer. Toutefois, les organisations syndicales sont confrontées à une série de défis complexes, en particulier lorsque ces travailleurs ne sont pas officiellement déclarés. Des syndicalistes de... lire plus

Angelo Ferracuti

Rocco et ses frères

L’écrivain Angelo Ferracuti nous emmène à travers la Plaine de Gioia Tauro en Italie en compagnie de syndicalistes itinérants à la rencontre des travailleurs nomades qui récoltent les agrumes pour des salaires de misère. Des migrants africains pour la plupart qui ont fui des situations dramatiques dans leur pays et trouvent en Italie des conditions... lire plus

Jean-François Lebrun

Comment dépoussiérer le statut des travailleuses domestiques migrantes en Europe ?

De plus en plus d’Européens font appel à des travailleuses domestiques pour les aider dans des tâches ordinaires de la vie quotidienne. Trop peu de ces travailleuses domestiques bénéficient de conditions de travail décentes leur permettant de vivre dignement. Le bien-être d’une partie grandissante des citoyens européens doit-il se réaliser aux... lire plus

Berta Chulvi

Résiste à domicile ! Comment les travailleuses migrantes des services domestiques font face à l’exploitation sans bornes

Elles arrivent de leur pays avec l’intention de se bâtir un avenir meilleur et c’est une exploitation impitoyable qui les attend. Elles travaillent au noir dans des domiciles privés, bien souvent en échange du gîte et du couvert. Sans formation particulière, elles prennent soin de personnes dépendantes et malades et doivent affronter seules de... lire plus

Prostitution : de l’autre côté de la vitrine

Prostitution, migration, urbanisme, statut social et conditions de travail… l’historien et écrivain bruxellois Hans Vandecandelaere a sorti un nouveau livre qui traite cette fois du business de la prostitution et des conditions de travail affectant les travailleuses du sexe, dont celles d’origine étrangère en Belgique. Interview avec l’écrivain... lire plus

Hugo Boursier

Frontex, puissante vigie de la forteresse Europe

Avec ses gardes-côtes et ses gardes-frontières, elle est l’institution qui a connu la plus rapide expansion au sein de l’Union européenne. En assurant le contrôle du pourtour de l’espace Schengen, mais aussi la surveillance de la Méditerranée, Frontex est devenue, en l’espace de quinze ans, l’agence incontournable de la politique migratoire de l... lire plus

La politique en sursis

Les murs du bureau de Magid Magid au Parlement européen sont nus. Ce n’est pas étonnant : en principe, le mandat de ce parlementaire récemment élu pour le Green Party (parti vert écologiste du Royaume-Uni) n’est qu’un contrat de courte durée. Au moment où nous effectuons cette interview, l’échéance du Brexit (sortie du Royaume-Uni de l’Union... lire plus

De la menace pour le mode de vie européen à l’exploitation de la main-d’oeuvre étrangère

Les discriminations instaurées par les lois à l’encontre des personnes migrantes ont un impact certain sur la qualité des conditions de travail. Par la mise en concurrence qu’elles permettent, elles pourraient avoir un effet boomerang sur l’ensemble du monde du travail. Ces personnes sont-elles une menace pour le mode de vie européen ou doivent... lire plus

Mathieu Glowacki, Sébastien Gobert

L’Europe du charbon existe encore

La mine de charbon n’appartient pas seulement aux images d’Épinal de l’histoire ouvrière. Bien que vouée à disparaître en raison de l’impact catastrophique sur l’environnement, elle reste une réalité dans quelques pays d’Europe. HesaMag a voulu voir comment s’y déroulait le travail et connaître la perception qu’ont les syndicalistes du secteur... lire plus

Benjamin Lysaniuk, Maria Fernanda Cely-Garcia, Juan Pablo Ramos Bonilla

Sibaté, l’empoisonnement à l’amiante d’une municipalité colombienne

De nombreux articles de journaux colombiens rapportent depuis 2014 que des travailleurs, des membres de leur famille et des personnes sans lien avec l’industrie de l’amiante tombent malades ou décèdent des suites de maladies alors qu’ils tentent de vivre normalement dans la petite localité de Sibaté. La multiplication des alertes médiatiques pousse... lire plus

Cette écologie qui vient d’en bas

"Le mythe du printemps silencieux", ce titre peut sembler provocateur. Il se réfère au livre de Rachel Carson Silent Spring publié en 1962, souvent présenté comme l’origine de l’écologie en tant que mouvement massif de contestation. Sans en nier les mérites, Chad Montrie rend justice au mouvement d’en bas, collectif et d’une radicalité plus... lire plus

L’incroyable épopée des migrants vers l’Europe

Élément fondateur de la littérature occidentale, l’Odyssée d’Homère nous est souvent relatée à travers ce voyage périlleux en mer d’Ulysse qui rencontre de nombreux personnages mythologiques avant de délivrer son épouse Pénélope et son fils Télémaque. C’est à travers une même métaphore actualisée que le journaliste Patrick Kingsley nous conte d’une... lire plus

Table of contents

Hesamag_20_FR_WEB.pdf

Related content

Lesbos : avant-poste de la forteresse Europe

Un livre concis, percutant, indispensable. Le sociologue suisse Jean Ziegler s’est rendu en mai 2019 à Lesbos en Grèce. Il y a rencontré des réfugiés, des responsables politiques, des opérateurs d’organisations humanitaires, des fonctionnaires grecs et européens qui mettent en œuvre au quotidien ce que le langage administratif appelle "la gestion... lire plus

Hugo Boursier

Frontex, puissante vigie de la forteresse Europe

Avec ses gardes-côtes et ses gardes-frontières, elle est l’institution qui a connu la plus rapide expansion au sein de l’Union européenne. En assurant le contrôle du pourtour de l’espace Schengen, mais aussi la surveillance de la Méditerranée, Frontex est devenue, en l’espace de quinze ans, l’agence incontournable de la politique migratoire de l... lire plus

The number of legally resident migrants stands at over 22 million, but the number of Europe’s “undocumented” migrants, whose status is precarious and whose rights in many areas are limited as a result, is much harder to determine. These migrants are often forced to tolerate adverse working conditions; since they are discriminated against in the labour market, both male and female migrant workers are pushed into low-skill industries and professions that are more hazardous to health and less well-paid than other jobs, a situation that is justified by racist stereotypes and assumptions.

The goal of the HesaMag editorial team in compiling this report was to introduce readers to a number of real-life examples drawn from a variety of EU Member States. The migrant workers in all of these examples are caught in a metaphorical stranglehold that gradually squeezes the life out of them, and sometimes extinguishes it completely. One side of this is the status of being a non-national in one of the EU Member States, which can mean a denial of rights or even in some cases expulsion to a country where they are likely to fall victim to violence or discrimination. The other is the upswell of xenophobia confronting them, which is being stoked by far-right groups but tolerated with varying degrees of willingness by a much broader spectrum of political parties.

Fortress Europe may be erecting barricades to shut out the rest of the world, but these barricades are encountering resistance in the form of numerous new initiatives launched not only by groups of migrants who have banded together to fight for their rights, but also by other organisations acting in solidarity and out of a desire to build a fairer future. Trade unions – which from their very inception have striven to overcome the divisions and hatred that do nothing but harm workers – have also lent their support to these developments.

Subscribe for free

One copy of each issue of the magazine will be sent free of charge to any individual who subscribes in their own name. For orders of more than one copy, please choose the collective option.

HesaMagPlus

Buy printed version
€ 5.00
fr

Table of contents

Editorial - Preventing the cancer legacy

It has been known for some time that the exposure of parents to carcinogens can endanger the health of their children. Ever since the 1950s, researchers have been studying children born to persons irradiated by the American atomic bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki in Japan. If we consider the fact that all European countries now have cancer... Find out more

The Juncker years and their patchy record on occupational health

After 10 years of almost total paralysis inflicted by the European Commission between 2004 and 2014 under the leadership of José Manuel Barroso, has occupational health finally regained a foothold in European Union policies? The record of the outgoing President, Jean-Claude Juncker, whose term of office comes to an end in November 2019, is... Find out more

“A worker is a worker”: the trade unions organising migrants

Migrants are an integral, if often exploited, part of the European workforce, and trade unions across the continent are making efforts to organise them. However, they face a complex set of challenges, particularly if the workers are undocumented. Trade unionists from four different countries talk about their initiatives, revealing a remarkable... Find out more

Angelo Ferracuti

Rocco and his brothers

The writer Angelo Ferracuti takes us across the Gioia Tauro plain in Italy in the company of “roving” trade unionists, seeking out itinerant workers who harvest citrus fruits for derisory wages. These are mostly African migrants who have fled from desperate situations in their own countries, only to find that living and working conditions in Italy... Find out more

Jean-François Lebrun

The status of migrant female domestic workers in Europe: time for an overhaul

An increasing number of Europeans are calling on female domestic workers to help them in their ordinary daily tasks. Too few of these domestic workers enjoy decent working conditions that allow them to live in dignity. Must the well-being of a growing proportion of Europe’s citizens be secured at the expense of a minority that is more often than... Find out more

Berta Chulvi

The “home front”. How migrant domestic workers cope with unfettered exploitation

They leave their home countries intent on building a better future, but all that awaits them is exploitation. They work without papers in private households, often in exchange for a roof over their heads. Devoid of any specific training, they look after dependent and sick people, having to cope with overbearing emotional demands without outside... Find out more

Prostitution: a view from the other side of the window

Prostitution, migration, urban planning, social status and working conditions: the new book by Brussels-based historian and writer Hans Vandecandelaere covers a wide spectrum of themes. Don’t Ask Me Why is a study of the prostitution business and the working conditions affecting female sex workers in Belgium, including foreign nationals. Interview... Find out more

Hugo Boursier

Frontex, keeping a forceful watch at the borders of Fortress Europe

With its coastguards and border guards, this is the European Union institution that has expanded the most rapidly. In the space of 15 years, Frontex has become the key agency in Europe’s migration policy, ensuring control of the periphery of the Schengen Area and policing the Mediterranean, from its headquarters in Poland down to Spain and the... Find out more

Politics on borrowed time

The walls of Magid Magid’s office in the European Parliament are bare. This is understandable, as the newly elected Member of the European Parliament (MEP) for Britain’s Green Party is in Brussels on a potentially short-term contract. At the time we are conducting this interview, the looming Brexit deadline means he could be packing up again, so... Find out more

Migrant workers: a threat to “our European way of life”? Or vulnerable and exploited?

Discriminations against migrants, engrained in the law, have an undoubtable impact on the quality of their working conditions. And because discrimination creates fiercer competition for jobs, this could, by a kind of boomerang effect, be damaging to employment as a whole. Are these migrants a threat to the “European way of life” or should they... Find out more

Mathieu Glowacki, Sébastien Gobert

Europe’s coal industries: not dead yet

Coal mines are not just found in history books. Although doomed to extinction due to their catastrophic impact on the environment, they remain a reality in several European countries. HesaMag wanted to see what work was like in a coal mine and get to know the views of trade unionists working in the sector. We found a mixture of pride in a mythical... Find out more

Benjamin Lysaniuk, Maria Fernanda Cely-Garcia, Juan Pablo Ramos Bonilla

Sibaté, a Colombian town poisoned by asbestos

Since 2014, there have been numerous articles in the Colombian press reporting illness or illness-related deaths among asbestos workers, members of their families and even individuals with no connection to the asbestos industry who were living ordinary lives – all in the small town of Sibaté. The increasing media interest prompted a team of... Find out more

Environmentalism from the bottom up

The Myth of Silent Spring is perhaps a rather provocative title. It references the book Silent Spring by Rachel Carson, published in 1962, which is often seen as the origin of environmentalism as a mass protest movement. While not denying the original book’s merits, Chad Montrie instead highlights the importance of a bottom-up, mass movement that... Find out more

The epic saga of migrants heading for Europe

A cornerstone of Western literature, Homer’s Odyssey recounts Ulysses’ perilous wanderings and the many mythological characters he meets before arriving home to liberate his wife Penelope and his son Telemachus. This story is used as a metaphor by journalist Patrick Kingsley in a captivating manner to narrate the saga of Hashem al-Souki, a Syrian... Find out more

Table of contents

Migrant workers in Fortress Europe

Related content

Lesbos: outpost of Fortress Europe

A concise, impactful and essential book. In May 2019, Swiss sociologist Jean Ziegler took a trip to Lesbos in Greece. There he met refugees, political leaders and humanitarian aid operators, as well as Greek and European officials who, on a daily basis, implement what is known in administrative terms as "migratory flow management" and "external... Find out more

Jean-François Lebrun

The status of migrant female domestic workers in Europe: time for an overhaul

An increasing number of Europeans are calling on female domestic workers to help them in their ordinary daily tasks. Too few of these domestic workers enjoy decent working conditions that allow them to live in dignity. Must the well-being of a growing proportion of Europe’s citizens be secured at the expense of a minority that is more often than... Find out more